Web-Based Field Trips Computer Graphic

1: Rehabilitation of Persons with Traumatic Brain Injury (REQUIRED)

This web field trip is designed to provide you with additional information about cognitive rehabilitation. Suggestions to successful rehabilitation are offered.

2: Brain Train (OPTIONAL)

One of the goals of cognitive behavioral rehabilitation is to improve the functioning of the individual with TBI. The following website provides the user with a brochure to purchase cognitive retraining software. The site also provides a link to other “Freeware/Shareware.”

  • Visit Brain Train at: http://www.braintrain.com/
  • Click the link “Brain Train Cognitive Retraining Software” in the upper left hand corner of the page.
  • View the options of software.
  • Then, click the link “Other Software Freeware/Shareware” located in the upper right hand corner.
  • Review this information to determine if it will be useful for you.

3: Model Systems Tour (OPTIONAL)

This web field trip is intended to give the student links to all traumatic brain injury model systems. Currently, there are 16 model care systems for individuals with TBI. The programs serve as a Model for the treatment of TBI, conduct data collection, and participate in research. Each program has unique components. Please visit several of the following sites to familiarize yourself with the information provided by each.

UAB TBI Model System
Spain Rehabilitation Center – University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama
Project Director: Tom Novack
205-934-3454 or Email: tbi@uab.edu

The Rehabilitation Research Center for TBI
Santa Clara Valley Medical Center
San Jose, California
Project Director: Jeffrey Englander, MD
408-885-2000 or Email: jeffrey.englander@hhs.co.santa-clara.ca.us

The Rocky Mountain Regional Brain Injury System
Craig Hospital
Englewood, Colorado
Project Director: Gale Whiteneck, PhD
303- 789-8204 or Email: gale@craig-hospital.org

Spaulding-Harvard Traumatic Brain Injury Model System
Boston, Massachusetts
Project Advisor: Mel Glenn, MD
617-573-2625 or Email: mglenn@partners.org

Southeastern Michigan TBI System
Detroit, Michigan
Project Director: Robin Hanks, PhD
313-745-9763 or Email: rhanks@dmc.org

Mayo TBI Model System
Rochester, Minnesota
Project Director: James Malec, PhD
507-255-3116 or Email: malec.james@mayo.edu

New Jersey TBI Model System
JFK- Johnson Rehab Institute
Edison, New Jersey
Project Director: Keith Cicerone, PhD
732-906-2645 or Email: kcicerone@solarishs.org

New York TBI Model System
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, New York
Project Director: Wayne Gordon, PhD
212-659-9372 or Email: wayne.gordon@mssm.edu

Ohio Valley TBI Model System
Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio
Project Director: John Corrigan, PhD
614-293-3830 or Email: corrigan.1@osu.edu

MossRehab TBI Model System of Care
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Project Director: Tessa Hart, PhD
215-456-6544 or Email: thart@einstein.edu

North Texas TBI Model System (NT-TBIMS)
University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center
Project Director: Ramon Diaz-Arrastia, MD 214-648-6409 or Email: ramon.diaz- arrastia@UTSouthwestern.edu

Virginia Commonwealth University TBIMS
Medical College of Virginia
Richmond, Virginia
Project Director: Jeffrey Kreutzer, PhD
804-838-9055 or Email: jskreutz@hsc.vuc.edu

Univ of Washington TBIMS
Seattle, Washington
Project Director: Kathleen Bell, MD
206-685-0935 pr Email: krbell@u.washington.edu

last - long - blue Table of ContentsNext - long - blue